About Conference


The TYPES meetings are a forum to present new and on-going work in all aspects of type theory and its applications, especially in formalized and computer assisted reasoning and computer programming. The meetings from 1990 to 2008 were annual workshops of a sequence of five EU funded networking projects. Since 2009, TYPES has been run as an independent conference series. Previous TYPES meetings were held in Antibes (1990), Edinburgh (1991), Båstad (1992), Nijmegen (1993), Båstad (1994), Torino (1995), Aussois (1996), Kloster Irsee (1998), Lökeberg (1999), Durham (2000), Berg en Dal near Nijmegen (2002), Torino (2003), Jouy-en-Josas near Paris (2004), Nottingham (2006), Cividale del Friuli (2007), Torino (2008), Aussois (2009), Warsaw (2010), Bergen (2011), Toulouse (2013), Paris (2014), Tallinn (2015), Novi Sad (2016), Budapest (2017).

Topics and Scope

The TYPES areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • foundations of type theory and constructive mathematics;
  • homotopy type theory;
  • applications of type theory;
  • dependently typed programming;
  • industrial uses of type theory technology;
  • meta-theoretic studies of type systems;
  • proof assistants and proof technology;
  • automation in computer-assisted reasoning;
  • links between type theory and functional programming;
  • formalizing mathematics using type theory.

We encourage talks proposing new ways of applying type theory. In the spirit of workshops, talks may be based on newly published papers, work submitted for publication, but also work in progress.

The Conference is partially supported by COST Action CA15123 EUTypes.
The first two days of TYPES 2018, June 18 – 19 are organised under the
auspices of EUTypes.


Programme Committee

Andreas Abel (Chalmers University Gothenburg)
Amal Ahmed (Northeastern University Boston)
Andrej Bauer (University of Ljubljana)
Marc Bezem (University of Bergen)
Maria Paola Bonacina (University of Verona)
Gilles Dowek (INRIA – ENS Paris-Saclay)
Peter Dybjer (Chalmers University Gothenburg)
José Espírito Santo (University of Minho) (co-chair)
Herman Geuvers (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Ambrus Kaposi (Eötvös Loránd University)
Ugo de’Liguoro (University of Torino)
Ralph Matthes (IRIT – CNRS and University of Toulouse)
Assia Mahboubi (INRIA – LS2N Nantes)
Keiko Nakata (SAP Potsdam)
Pierre-Marie Pédrot (Max Planck Institute for Software Systems Saarbruckën)
Luís Pinto (University of Minho) (co-chair)
Andrew Pitts (University of Cambridge)
Aleksy Schubert (University of Warsaw)
Carsten Schürmann (IT University of Copenhagen)
Anton Setzer (University of Swansea)


José Espírito Santo (Centro de Matemática, University of Minho)
Maria João Frade (HASLab, University of Minho and INESC TEC)
Cláudia Mendes Araújo (Centro de Matemática, University of Minho)
Luís Pinto (Centro de Matemática, University of Minho)